Main cтраница Main cтраница
Main cтраница
Main cтраница
Main cтраница

Main cтраница
Main cтраница Main cтраница Main cтраница Main cтраница

George Gershwin / George Gershwin (a part IV)

the book has made impression Upon Gershwin. With what form to invest speeches, feelings of heroes what to prefer a genre, he did not imagine clearly. But the thought on Porgi and Bess has sat down at consciousness. And then - celebratory everyday life of creativity for years has superseded thought on tragedy of the cripple and its girlfriend, beauty Bess. Only in ten years people of the fishing settlement of South Carolina, excited with murder of young fisherman Robbins and whirlpool of events in which Besss, by Porgi, drug dealer Sporting Lajf have been involved, broad-shouldered athlete Kroup and other heroes of the novel of Dju Is barefooted Hejvarda, have again entered into Gershwin's consciousness, and he has told about them passionate language of a Negro song.

With authors of the libretto - long dispute went spouses of Hejvard-. They insisted on a considerable role of colloquial episodes, that is dialogues and scenes without music. Gershwin defended the music right to fill all time of a dramaturgic fabric. It laid an innovative way for the American theatre to a national opera and categorically demanded creation for execution "¤юЁуш and …хёё" the troupe entirely consisting of Negroes. "Кюыіъю then, - he spoke, - all will begin to sound organically, хё=хё=тхээю".

On September, 30th, 1935 at the overflowed Kolonial-theatre of Boston the premiere "¤юЁуш and …хёё" has taken place;. The opera was, is put by director Rubenom Mamulianom, the native of Tbilisi studying at the Moscow university. Aleksand Smolens (so on the American harmony the surname Smolensk sounded) conducted. Scenery and suits have been executed under Sergey Sudejkina's sketches...

The Ovation lasted infinitely. The Boston press has enthusiastically accepted an opera. And nevertheless Gershwin considered the Boston statement as "яЁхфяЁхьіхЁѕ". He waited with excitement of the New York premiere. Here again public was so enthusiastic, as in Boston. And criticism? It has taken of the ultraacademic position and with the snobbery which is given out for adherence "ёшё=ющ opera ¶юЁьх" in grumbling intonations taught Gershwin as followed, according to critics, to write "¤юЁуш and …хёё". It is difficult to give up thought that in such organised underestimation of the higher achievement of the American culture the racial discrimination affected.

"¤юЁуш and …хёё" begins the triumphal procession on world opera scenes. This process especially becomes more active that time as the Negro group "¦тЁшьхэ +яхЁр" will in the early fifties be organised; acquainted with Gershwin's ingenious opera almost all countries of the world, including Soviet Union.

"¤юЁуш and …хёё" - George Gershwin's swan song. In the middle of 1937 he was ill. The diagnosis has been put not at once. Only on July, 8th doctors were convinced that before them a hard case of a cancer of a brain. The well-known neurosurgeon Dendi was in holiday. Under the order of the government two fighters have found for its yacht at ocean and delivered the professor in clinic where there was Gershwin. Operation has not brought changes in position of the patient. On July, 11th, 1937 George Gershwin has died. Through two and a half a month to it 39 years would be executed.

Everything that Gershwin has written, is penetrated by uniform idea - to make music accessible to each person, not to come off a daily life, not to turn away haughtily from street soundings, dansinga, from a song of the negress erasing linen, from a homebrew jazz to please to a jazz arhiroskoshnomu, not to erect indestructible walls between music classical and easy. This idea also has led George Gershwin to creation of the products which have entered into musical use of all world, lifted music of the American nation to classics level.

< we come back

Главная cтраница Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница

Головна cтраница
Головна cтраница
Головна cтраница
Галоўная cтраница
Галоўная cтраница
Галоўная cтраница

Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница Главная cтраница Главная cтраница Главная cтраница

George Gershwin / Джордж Гершвин (часть IV)

На Гершвина книга произвела впечатление. В какую форму облечь речи, чувства героев, какой предпочесть жанр, он не представлял себе ясно. Но мысль о Порги и Бесс засела в сознании. А потом - праздничные будни творчества на годы вытеснили мысль о трагедии калеки и его подруге, красавице Бесс. Только через десять лет люди рыбачьего поселка Южной Каролины, взволнованные убийством молодого рыбака Роббинса и водоворотом событий, в которые вовлечены были Бесс, Порги, торговец наркотиками Спортинг Лайф, широкоплечий силач Кроуп и другие герои романа Дю Бос Хейварда, снова вошли в сознание Гершвина, и он рассказал о них страстным языком негритянской песни.

С авторами либретто - супругами Хейвард - шел долгий спор. Они настаивали на значительной роли разговорных эпизодов, то есть диалогов и сцен без музыки. Гершвин отстаивал право музыки заполнить все поры драматургической ткани. Он прокладывал новаторский для американского театра путь национальной опере и категорически требовал создания для исполнения "Порги и Бесс" труппы, целиком состоящей из негров. "Только тогда,- говорил он,- все зазвучит органично, естественно".

30 сентября 1935 года в переполненном Колониал-Театре Бостона состоялась премьера "Порги и Бесс". Опера была, поставлена режиссером Рубеном Мамулианом, уроженцем Тбилиси, учившимся в Московском университете. Дирижировал Александ Смоленс (так на американский лад звучала фамилия Смоленский). Декорации же и костюмы были выполнены по эскизам Сергея Судейкина...

Овации длились бесконечно. Бостонская пресса восторженно приняла оперу. И тем не менее Гершвин рассматривал бостонскую постановку как "предпремьеру". Он ждал с волнением нью-йоркской премьеры. И здесь публика была столь же восторженной, как в Бостоне. А критика? Она заняла ультраакадемическую позицию и со снобизмом, выдаваемым за приверженность "чистой оперной форме", в брюзжащих интонациях поучала Гершвина, как следовало бы, по мнению критиков, написать "Порги и Бесс". Трудно отказаться от мысли, что в такой организованной недооценке высшего достижения американской культуры сказывалась расовая дискриминация.

"Порги и Бесс" начинает свое триумфальное шествие по мировым оперным сценам. Этот процесс особенно активизируется тех пор, как в начале 50-х годов организуется негритянская группа "Эвримен Опера", познакомившая с гениальной оперой Гершвина чуть ли не все страны мира, в том числе и Советский Союз.

"Порги и Бесс" - лебединая песня Джорджа Гершвина. В середине 1937 года он заболел. Диагноз был поставлен не сразу. Только 8 июля врачи убедились в том, что перед ними тяжелый случай рака мозга. Знаменитый нейрохирург Денди был в отпуске. По распоряжению правительства два истребителя разыскали в океане его яхту и доставили профессора в клинику, где находился Гершвин. Операция не внесла изменений в положение больного. 11 июля 1937 года Джордж Гершвин умер. Через два с половиной месяца ему исполнилось бы 39 лет.

Все, что написал Гершвин, пронизано единой идеей - сделать музыку доступной каждому человеку, не отрываться от повседневного быта, не отворачиваться высокомерно от звучаний улицы, дансинга, от песни негритянки, стирающей белье, от доморощенного джаза в угоду джазу архироскошному, не возводить несокрушимых стен между музыкой классической и легкой. Эта идея и привела Джорджа Гершвина к созданию произведений, вошедших в музыкальный обиход всего мира, поднявших музыку американской нации до уровня классики.

< возвращаемся