Main cтраница Main cтраница
Main cтраница
Main cтраница
Main cтраница

Main cтраница
Main cтраница Main cтраница Main cтраница Main cтраница

Benjamin Britten / Benjamin Britten (a part II)

In small town (where there is an opera action) the life of each of its inhabitants is connected with the sea. "-№ё°хх юсЁхё=тю" the small town, impregnated with hypocrisy, suffers as inevitable harm the mistress of a tavern and its two nieces, it is compelled to suffer the disgusting addict, the main spring of all gossips and intrigues, only because it the widow of the agent of the East Indian company, but "юсЁхё=тю" with open hostility concerns Peter Grajmsu. The Protagonist of an opera is completely not similar to the hero against whom small people have unfairly taken up arms. Grajmsa it is easy to accuse of all those acts which have put it out of a society, where not all people so nikchemny. With sympathy concern it only retired shkiper and the druggist, and teacher Ellen loves this severe, unsociable person. She understands that many acts of Grajmsa, ridiculous, and sometimes and terrible, are caused by that it izuverilsja in good, human understanding, in that, as for it can be both a smile, and warm heat. Peter Grajms perishes. It one departures in the sea not to return.

Britten does not accuse and does not protect the hero, and shines a labyrinth of its sincere world, showing, as the life is terrible, capable to spoil the person and through a chain of misfortunes to withdraw it in a night gloom of storming ocean, in a non-existence...

In "¤ш=хЁх +Ёрщьёх" the talent of Brittena - the musical playwright for the first time has affected. He achieves constantly, from a picture to a picture, growing interest of listeners by unusual comparison of episodes solo, ansamblevyh, choral; it proslaivaet scenic action by symphonic interludes - the intervals influencing with the big force on listeners. In six interludes - "ррёётх=" "П=юЁь" "-юёъЁхёэюх ѕ=Ёю" "Гют ьюЁ " "-ѕээ№щ ётх=" "…хёяЁюётх=эр  эюёі" - dramaturgic marks of action, its symphonic implied senses are reflected.

"¤ш=хЁ +Ёрщьё" for the first time in 1945 Wells is put in London by theatre Sedler. The premiere has poured out in event of national value, having revived for a long time the lost glory of English music. A premiere "¤ш=хЁр +Ёрщьёр" became the important phenomenon and the international value, having opposed, to mentioned sights at an opera, as on become obsolete genre, talented product, deeply emotional, democratic on language and most recent. Probably that "¤ш=хЁ +Ёрщьё" in an especial way has grasped the dramatic nature of people, a lot of terrible tested in days of just terminated war. The first opera of Brittena has bypassed all largest scenes of the world.

A year later the Glajdenbernsky opera theatre, which troupe has soon received the name of Small opera troupe of Kovent-Gardensky theatre, has staged a new opera of Brittena - "¤юЁѕурэшх -ѕъЁхчшш". The destiny of Lukretsii, the wife of Roman commander Lutsija Kollatina, is described for the first time by Tatsitom, and then was many times retold by poets, writers, playwrights, including Shakespeare.

The Tsar of Tarquinii for lack of Kollatina has outraged upon Lukretsiej. It has committed suicide, being not to take down in forces of a shame, In the opera of Britten, passionately being indignant, shows bestial essence of Tarkvinija and becomes in protection of Lukretsii. One of the most tremendous scenes of an opera is played in a bedchamber. Against the true, loving wife of the commander of Tarquinii turns force, meanness, the weapon. But before to make spectators witnesses of a tragical scene, the composer tells about Lukretsii music of a lullaby of a song. In it - cleanliness of a serene children's dream. The Song about ivushke - Desdemona agonal song is recollected. "¤юЁѕурэшх -ѕъЁхчшш" - the first opera, in which Britten addresses to chamber structure: six executors of scenic roles, including and minor; thirteen persons in an orchestra and as the opera genre is approached to antique tragedy, the chorus which is making comments on action, anticipating by the remarks scenic events is entered. But chorus parties are charged. . To two singers: to the tenor and a mezzo-soprano. It is interesting that two basic executors "Ёюыш §юЁр" in Small opera troupe there were outstanding actors Peter Pirs and Silvija Fisher.

Arhaiziruja musical language "¤юЁѕурэш  -ѕъЁхчшш" Britten will not stylise it. "яюф рэ=шёэюё=і" understanding that theatre not a museum. It as though recreates theatre Pyorsella and Handel language causing direct associations with style of opera retelling of events of an ancient history. To greatness, severity, the force, going from gendelevskih images, the touching, feminity, trepetnost are opposed, forcing to recollect a manner of the letter of Pyorsella.

A Year later after a premiere "-ѕъЁхчшш" Britten conducts a premiere of a new opera - "+ыісхЁ= +хЁЁшэу". After two tragical operas which are coming to an end with suicide of heroes, "+ыісхЁ= +хЁЁшэу" makes at first sight strange impression. Not Tatsit and Shakespeare, the defined character and style of one opera, not George Krabb who has inspired the composer by the severe realism in the description of a life of tragedies "+юЁюфър" - whose story addresses for a plot of the third opera of Britten "ЂчсЁрээшъ Mrs. Мёёюэ" to Maupassant; it is transferred on English soil. Opera action is developed in the small English small town Loksforde similar to the French colleague - the city of Kloshmerl which has become famous for memorable scandal. Similarity here not in a plot, and in receptions of satirical derision remote "=ш°ш yes уырфш" indestructibility "эЁртё=тхээ№§ ѕё=юхт". The opera begins a scene in the house of lady Billous where the respectable old lady informs gathered about the award in twenty five pounds, the intending Queen of May, the most moral girl of a city. Alas, any of candidates does not correspond to competition conditions. All know all about all. Then break tradition: "-ьхё=ю Queens we will select -юЁюы !" the Choice falls on Albert Herringa - arhidobrodetelnogo the guy from a greengrocery. General triumph! Solemn delivery of the award! And, at last, an outcome: every other day after triumph of virtue of the hero take from a roadside ditch where it has got, having visited preliminary a tavern and still any places about which in a society speak, not podymaja an eye …

As it was already specified, music "+ыісхЁ=р +хЁЁшэур" the vivacity, organichnostju occurrence of ensembles, wide layers of vocal episodes associates with receptions of the letter of the Italian comic opera. But intonations specifically English both in melodic constructions and in recitatives are constantly heard.

The Following opera score of Brittena demands the historical inquiry. In the XVIII-th century beginning when aristocratic London excitedly listened to Handel's magnificent operas and Bononchini, - the art transferred on English soil from Germany and Italy, - in the lower class of fans of theatre which was not supposed in luxurious auditoriums, the idea of a new genre - operas-parodies has arisen. John Gej - the writer and John Pepush - the musician have composed an opera which musical material developed and varied street songs, sentimental ballads, dances of social bottoms. So has arisen "+яхЁр эшЁш§" having noisy and almost the scandalous success caused by fascination of a plot, played among thieves, swindlers, buyers of stolen property, cheerful maidens, small market "фхыічют" and other ljuda, shnyrjajushchego on back streets of the London markets and brothels. In 200 years Bertolt Brecht has written "КЁх§уЁю°ют№щ Ёюьрэ" transformed by composer Kurtom Vail in "КЁх§уЁю°ютѕ¦ юяхЁѕ" 40 years not descending from repertoire of hundreds operetta and drama theatres.

It was necessary to possess the big courage that on the basis of product of two English authors of a XVIII-th century to write the new edition leaning against melodies of John Pepusha. New "+яхЁр эшЁш§" Brittena, certainly, falls outside the limits editorial editing of music of Pepusha. It peresochinena also is commented by the composer of the XX-th century.

Here already the fourth opera product publishes Britten. A modern drama "¤ш=хЁ +Ёрщьё" antique tragedy "¤юЁѕурэшх -ѕъЁхчшш" satire on an English society of the Victorian epoch "+ыісхЁ= +хЁЁшэу" and accusation of customs of English capital of a XVIII-th century. It is easy to notice that at wide amplitude of epoch, genres, plots of Britten spends through thought on harm, platitude, world criminality where low passions where hypocrisy and hypocrisy are covered "яюыюцхэшхь in юсЁхё=тх" reign; where the spirit of purchase and sale covers not only three-cheap market transactions with conscience. Indignation and deep sympathy, an ironical smile and caustic satirical intonation, awe of cleanliness and ardent accusation of harm, - such is amplitude of sincere movements of the composer, in each product taking of a clear position - the certain relation to heroes of is musical-scenic action. Ethical ideal of Brittena - humanism, but not that its version which is expressed by passive sympathy or so bezdejstvennym harm censure. In creativity of Brittena the humanism affects in aspiration to involve the widest audience in a circle of ethical problems, to grasp it, to call for effective forms of struggle against harm. (Products, the facts testifying to how Britten creatively reacted to the acute problems born by the present stage of struggle against forces of reaction will be more low resulted.)

< we come back - it is readable further >

Главная cтраница Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница

Головна cтраница
Головна cтраница
Головна cтраница
Галоўная cтраница
Галоўная cтраница
Галоўная cтраница

Главная cтраница
Главная cтраница Главная cтраница Главная cтраница Главная cтраница

Benjamin Britten / Бенджамин Бриттен (часть II)

В городке (где происходит действие оперы) жизнь каждого из его жителей связана с морем. "Высшее общество" городка, пропитанное ханжеством, терпит как неизбежное зло хозяйку трактира и двух ее племянниц, оно вынуждено терпеть омерзительную наркоманку, главную пружину всех сплетен и интриг, только потому, что она вдова агента Ост-Индской компании, но "общество" с открытой неприязнью относится к Питеру Граймсу. Главный герой оперы совсем не похож на положительного героя, против которого несправедливо ополчились мелкие люди. Граймса легко обвинить во всех тех поступках, которые поставили его вне общества, где не все люди так уж никчемны. С сочувствием относятся к нему только отставной шкипер и аптекарь, а учительница Эллен любит этого жестокого, нелюдимого человека. Она понимает, что многие поступки Граймса, нелепые, а иногда и страшные, обусловлены тем, что он изуверился в добре, человеческом понимании, в том, что и для него может найтись и улыбка, и сердечное тепло. Питер Граймс гибнет. Он один уплывает в море, чтобы не вернуться.

Бриттен не обвиняет и не защищает своего героя, а освещает лабиринт его душевного мира, показывая, как страшна жизнь, способная изуродовать человека и через цепь несчастий увести его в ночной мрак бушующего океана, в небытие...

В "Питере Граймсе" впервые сказался талант Бриттена - музыкального драматурга. Он добивается постоянно, от картины к картине, растущего интереса слушателей путем необычного сопоставления эпизодов сольных, ансамблевых, хоровых; он прослаивает сценическое действие симфоническими интерлюдиями - антрактами, воздействующими с большой силой на слушателей. В шести интерлюдиях - "Рассвет", "Шторм", "Воскресное утро", "Зов моря", "Лунный свет", "Беспросветная ночь" - отражены драматургические вехи действия, его симфонические подтексты.

"Питер Граймс" в первый раз в 1945 году поставлен в Лондоне театром Седлер Уэллс. Премьера вылилась в событие общенационального значения, возродив давно утраченную славу английской музыки. Премьера "Питера Граймса" стала важным явлением и международного значения, противопоставив, упоминавшимся взглядам на оперу, как на отживший жанр, талантливое произведение, глубоко эмоциональное, демократичное по языку и остросовременное. Возможно, что "Питер Граймс" по-особенному захватил своим драматизмом людей, много страшного испытавших в годы только что окончившейся войны. Первая опера Бриттена обошла все крупнейшие сцены мира.

Через год Глайденбернский оперный театр, труппа которого вскоре получила наименование Малой оперной труппы Ковент-Гарденского театра, поставил новую оперу Бриттена - "Поругание Лукреции". Судьба Лукреции, жены римского полководца Луция Коллатина, впервые описана Тацитом, а потом много раз пересказывалась поэтами, писателями, драматургами, в том числе и Шекспиром.

Царь Тарквиний в отсутствие Коллатина надругался над Лукрецией. Она покончила с собой, будучи не в силах снести позора, В своей опере Бриттен, страстно негодуя, показывает скотскую сущность Тарквиния и становится в защиту Лукреции. Одна из самых потрясающих сцен оперы разыгрывается в опочивальне. Против верной, любящей жены полководца Тарквиний обращает силу, низость, оружие. Но прежде чем сделать зрителей свидетелями трагедийной сцены, композитор рассказывает о Лукреции музыкой колыбельной песни. В ней - сама чистота безмятежного детского сна. Вспоминается Песня об ивушке - предсмертная песня Дездемоны. "Поругание Лукреции" - первая опера, в которой Бриттен обращается к камерному составу: шесть исполнителей сценических ролей, включая и второстепенные; тринадцать человек в оркестре, и так как жанр оперы приближен к античной трагедии, введен хор, комментирующий действие, предваряющий своими репликами сценические события. Но партии хора поручены... двум певцам: тенору и меццо-сопрано. Интересно, что двумя основными исполнителями "роли хора" в Малой оперной труппе были выдающиеся артисты Питер Пирс и Сильвия Фишер.

Архаизируя музыкальный язык "Поругания Лукреции", Бриттен не стилизует его. "под античность", понимая, что театр не музей. Он как бы воссоздает язык театра Пёрселла и Генделя, вызывающий прямые ассоциации со стилем оперного пересказа событий древней истории. Величию, суровости, силе, идущим от генделевских образов, противопоставлены трогательность, женственность, трепетность, заставляющие вспомнить манеру письма Пёрселла.

Год спустя после премьеры "Лукреции" Бриттен дирижирует премьерой новой своей оперы - "Альберт Херринг". После двух трагедийных опер, заканчивающихся самоубийством героев, "Альберт Херринг" производит на первый взгляд странное впечатление. Не Тацит и Шекспир, определившие характер и стиль одной оперы, не Джордж Крабб, вдохновивший композитора своим жестоким реализмом в описании жизни трагедий "Городка"- за сюжетом третьей своей оперы Бриттен обращается к Мопассану, чей рассказ "Избранник г-жи Юссон" перенесен на английскую почву. Действие оперы развертывается в маленьком английском городке Локсфорде, похожем на своего французского собрата - город Клошмерль, прославившийся памятным скандалом. Сходство здесь не в сюжете, а в приемах сатирического осмеяния захолустной "тиши да глади", нерушимости "нравственных устоев". Опера начинается сценой в доме леди Биллоус, где почтенная старая дама сообщает собравшимся о премии в двадцать пять фунтов, предназначающейся Королеве Мая, самой нравственной девушке города. Увы, ни одна из кандидаток не соответствует условиям конкурса. Все о всех все знают. Тогда нарушают традицию: "Вместо Королевы изберем Короля!" Выбор падает на Альберта Херринга - архидобродетельного парня из овощной лавки. Всеобщее ликование! Торжественное вручение премии! И, наконец, развязка: через день после триумфа добродетели героя извлекают из придорожной канавы, куда он попал, навестив предварительно кабак и еще какие-то места, о которых в обществе говорят, не подымая глаз…

Как уже указывалось, музыка "Альберта Херринга" своей живостью, органичностью возникновения ансамблей, широкими пластами вокальных эпизодов ассоциируется с приемами письма итальянской комической оперы. Но постоянно слышатся интонации специфически английские и в мелодических построениях и в речитативах.

Следующая оперная партитура Бриттена требует исторической справки. В начале XVIII века, когда аристократический Лондон с увлечением слушал пышные оперы Генделя и Бонончини,- искусство, перенесенное на английскую почву из Германии и Италии,-в низших слоях любителей театра, не допускавшихся в фешенебельные театральные залы, зародилась идея нового жанра - оперы-пародии. Джон Гей - литератор и Джон Пепуш - музыкант сочинили оперу, музыкальный материал которой развивал и варьировал уличные песенки, сентиментальные баллады, танцы социальных низов. Так возникла "Опера нищих", имевшая шумный и чуть ли не скандальный успех, обусловленный увлекательностью сюжета, разыгрывающегося в среде воров, мошенников, скупщиков краденого, веселых девиц, мелких базарных "дельцов" и прочего люда, шныряющего по закоулкам лондонских рынков и притонов. Через 200 лет Бертольт Брехт написал "Трехгрошовый роман", превращенный композитором Куртом Вайлем в "Трехгрошовую оперу", уже 40 лет не сходящую с репертуара сотен опереточных и драматических театров.

Нужно было обладать большой отвагой, чтобы на основе произведения двух английских авторов XVIII века написать новую редакцию, опирающуюся на мелодии Джона Пепуша. Новая "Опера нищих" Бриттена, разумеется, выходит за пределы редакционной правки музыки Пепуша. Она пересочинена и прокомментирована композитором XX века.

Вот уже четвертое оперное произведение выпускает в свет Бриттен. Современная драма "Питер Граймс", античная трагедия "Поругание Лукреции", сатира на английское общество викторианской эпохи "Альберт Херринг" и обличение нравов английской столицы XVIII века. Легко заметить, что при широкой амплитуде эпох, жанров, сюжетов Бриттен проводит сквозную мысль о зле, пошлости, преступности мира, где царят низменные страсти, где ханжество и лицемерие прикрываются "положением в обществе", где дух купли-продажи охватывает не только трехгрошовые рыночные сделки с совестью. Негодование и глубокое сочувствие, ироническая улыбка и едкая сатирическая интонация, благоговение перед чистотой и пламенное обличение зла,- такова амплитуда душевных движений композитора, в каждом произведении занимающего ясную позицию - определенное отношение к героям музыкально-сценического действия. Этический идеал Бриттена - гуманизм, но не та его разновидность, которая выражается пассивным сочувствием или столь же бездейственным порицанием зла. В творчестве Бриттена гуманизм сказывается в стремлении вовлечь самую широкую аудиторию в круг этических проблем, захватить ее, призвать к действенным формам борьбы со злом. (Ниже будут приведены произведения, факты, свидетельствующие о том, как творчески реагировал Бриттен на самые острые проблемы, рожденные современным этапом борьбы с силами реакции.)

< возвращаемся - читаем дальше >